We know you're excited! But before we can marry you in Florida, you must first obtain a Florida Marriage License.
After the ceremony your officiant will complete the certificate of marriage and file it with the circuit court from which it was issued within 10 days after the ceremony.
- Both parties must be present when applying for a Marriage License
- Both parties must be at least 18 years of age
- Identification in the form of a driver's license, state ID, military ID or passport
- U.S. citizens must provide their Social Security Number. Non-citizens may provide a Social Security Number or an Alien Registration Number issued by the Immigration and Naturalization Service
- An application form must be completed. If either party has been previously married, you must note on the application how and when the marriage ended
- If either party has been divorced, or widowed they must know the month, day and year the last marriage ended. If either party has been divorced or widowed within the last 30 days, a certified copy of the divorce decree or death certificate must be presented
- All applicants must read The Family Law Handbook that is provided at the time of application
Will be indicated on the license. Florida Marriage Licenses are valid for 60 days from the issue date. The marriage ceremony must be performed between the effective date and the expiration date on the license.
FLORIDA RESIDENTS - There is a 3 day waiting period after the Florida Marriage License is issued before the wedding ceremony can occur unless you complete a premarital preparation course.
NON-FLORIDA RESIDENTS - No waiting period required.
- Blood tests
- Witnesses to the marriage
Sample of Marriage License
Florida Family Law Handbook
Marriage License Fees